Learning machine learning

View story at Medium.com

A very interesting read on one person’s experiences going from ML ‘novice’ to using it at work in just one year:

Machine Learning a Year

By the way, I’m the PhD he talks about in his article:

I came in touch with a Ph.D student who was willing to help me out for 40 USD per hour, both with the problem sets as well as the overall understanding. This has been critical for me in order to move on, as he has uncovered a lot of black holes in my knowledge.

Lesson learned: It’s possible to get a good machine learning teacher for around 50 USD per hour. If you can afford it, it’s definitely worth it.

It’s always nice to hear from former ‘students’. Glad to hear I was of help, Per!

 

Leave a Reply

